• Email Address:
  • Location: United States

One-Line Bio

I'm a Medical-Surgical-Telemetry night-shift charge nurse for a 51-bed unit located in north west Phoenix, AZ, USA


My name is Eric, and I live in Phoenix, Arizona USA. I am night shift charge nurse for a 51-bed medical-surgical-telemetry unit. As of this writing, I have been a nurse for five years.

I was born in the Philippines, and my parents first came to the US in the early 1960's. I recently turned forty years old last September 2003. People tell me I hardly look it, for which I am thankful.

I have rewritten my About Me page. I kept getting email that my previous one made me sound bitchy. My usual response to such email was how did they know I really wasn't bitchy? However, after some consideration, I've decided to re-write it.
So I slaved away for weeks, reading the About Me pages of other bloggers, and I just couldn't come up with my own spin on how to describe someone who spends a good portion of his limited free time working on a blog, or reading the blogs of others.

I finally decided to give Match dot com a visit. I had heard that they have a profile app that has information deemed interesting and pertinent for people looking for dates. No, I'm not looking for a date. The website poses questions people may find interesting. Or so I hope. Here are my answers:

I'm a Virgo, a fact which I have always found to be of little informative value. According to the Chinese calendar, I was born in the year of the Tiger. This too is of limited usefulness, although it interestingly suggested I could have been a race driver. Who would have guessed?

I'm intensely introverted. It has not always been this way. There have been times in the past when I craved to be with other people. I used to host parties and get-togethers with friends on a weekly basis, and we'd spend the evening making dinner, watching a movie, and just talking about life. I am not sure how the change has come about, but my time away from work is usually spent by myself, reading books, watching television, and working (or playing) on the computer. It is not unusual for me to stay home for three or four days in a row without venturing out of the apartment. I'm guessing that my life as a nurse, working with the frail and elderly, who frequently are challenged by dementia, and with frequent life-threatening emergencies, has made my working life already too stimulating. I appreciate and look forward to time not only for recreation, but also to work undisturbed on the numerous leadership projects (I tend to get sucked into those).

A lot of my recreational time is spent watching TV or reading books. My favorite shows are all of the various incarnations of Star Trek. I have watched each of the original episodes (starring William Shatner, Leonard Nimoy, Deforest Kelly and James Doohan) at least a couple of hundred times each. I also like: CSI Crime Scene Investigation, Nova, Nature, and Monk. My least favorite shows are any kind of reality programming.

I don't have a "favorite local hot spot". I go to Borders and Barnes & Noble bookstores a lot. My favorite restaurants (if you go strictly by how often my room mate and I go there to eat) include The Golden Wok (the Mongolian Beef, or the Shrimp w/Lobster Sauce), The Olive Garden (salad w/bread sticks, grilled tuna or spaghetti w/meat sauce), Streets of New York Pizza & Subs (sausage, pepperoni), East Winds (the low carb sautéed beef w/vegetables -- and a side of rice, which perplexes the waiter every time), The Rainforest Cafe (hmmm, can't seem to remember what I usually get), The China Star Buffet (the usual favorites -- steamed dumplings, beef w/spring onions, sesame chicken, eggrolls), and the China Doll (sautéed rice noodles served with beef, chicken, pork, shrimp and a variety of vegetables).

I am not at all into sports. I will never be able to tell you who is playing in the Superbowl, or World Series. I have never attended a professional athletic game. I was never into sports when I was in high school or college.

I eat rice just about every day. This is a very "filipino" thing. I can eat rice with scrambled eggs, or Kentucky Fried Chicken, or with a hamburger patty. It wasn't always like this. There were long periods of time in my life when the only rice I ate with any regularity was when I went home to my parent's house. I have not quite gotten to the point where I buy my rice in 50-pound sacks, but I am most certainly getting there.

I don't smoke. I don't drink (the last time I had any alcohol was at a friend's party in May 2002). I don't like the taste, and besides, I'm a Sleepy Drunk. Once, at a friend's party many years ago, I got totally plastered on 4 beers (over 6 hours), and found myself sleeping in one of those cedar chests people put at the foot of their bed for storage. I pushed open the top, and scared the hostess (who had assumed I had gone home with someone from the party) into a five-minute screaming fit (she said she thought I was a vampire). So I hardly ever get drunk anymore.

I live with my room mate and our three cats (LadyKitty, BoyKitty and MissyKitty), plus a tankful of goldfish (predictably, three of them are named LadyFishy, BoyFishy and MissyFishy, and they have the same coloring as our kitties).

I graduated from Virginia Episcopal School (Lynchburg, Virginia), and from the College of William and Mary (Williamsburg, Virginia). I taught high school for five years, and after putzing around in a variety of endeavors, went to nursing school (Bon Secours Memorial School of Nursing in Richmond Virginia).

Whew, answering survey questions can be quite exhausting. I'm off to watch some Trek...

Live Long and Prosper...